Bad Copy


States of Nature Releases Single “New Foundations,” Announces New Album

Photo: Christopher Sturm

Oakland, CA-based band States of Nature has announced the release of a new full-length album, Brighter Than Before, on February 16th via Sell The Heart Records (U.S.) and Little Rocket Records (U.K.), and also available in a limited capacity in Italy via Epidemic Records. The new release will feature 10 brand new songs, blending elements of post-hardcore, psych & garage, and straight up rock ‘n roll.

The debut single off the album is titled “New Foundations” and may have a uplifting dance punk vibe to it, but lyrically it is on the darker side.

As the band describes it:

“Lyrically the song takes a bleak look at the world around us. Raised in a post-9/11 world, the song observes the way paranoia shapes decision-making that is harmful and destructive. This directly ties to what’s happening today homelessness and the housing crisis in California. There are policy decisions happening at state and local levels that intentionally make it harder to build new housing, also pushed by positions the public holds around conservation of city aesthetics and a complete misunderstanding of why people are on the streets in the first place.”

Stream “New Foundation” below and pre-order your copy of the new album via Sell the Heart here, via Little Rocket Records here, or via Epidemic Records here!

  1. Premiere

    Splitters Premieres New EP “Short Shrift”

    Dig into some bleak Midwestern melodies.

  2. Splitters

    Splitters Releases New Music Video for “Ugly”

  3. Newsvideo

    Airstream Futures Releases New Video for “Cemetary Sparrow,” Announces New Album

  4. News

    Middle-Aged Queers Announces Release of ‘Too Fag For Love’

  5. Newsstream

    Unconditional Arms Streams “You’re Just As Desperate” off Upcoming Release

  6. Newsvideo

    Middle-Aged Queers Releases Their Crowd-Sourced Video for “Theme Song”

  7. Newsvideo

    TULPA LUNA & Adam Gnade Release New Video for “Chernobyl”

  8. News

    Sell The Heart Records Releases Digital Fundraiser Compilation

Show Menu Close Menu Diamond Dots Tag Background Left Tag Right Tag icon-Interview Show Review Stream Tour Record Review Book Review TV Video Movie Contest Select Area